Jump to main content


Board of governors

The Board of governors consists of 5 members:
-three of them are nominated by the Government of the Republic of Slovenia; two on recommendation of the Ministry, responsible for research activities, and one on recommendation of the Ministry responsible for industry
-one board member is nominated by the Board of governors, based on the recommendation of the Director of Institute and with approval of the Scientific Council. This member is selected among the users of services of the Institute that show a long-standing interest in research activities
- one board member is elected by employees of the institute among employees themselves. Mandate of the board members is four years.

Scientific Council

Scientific Council establishes guidelines for research activities of the Institute. It is responsible for f creating professional basis for preparation of research programmes, it awards research and development titles to researchers and suggests long-term orientation of research and development work of the Institute.


The director is responsible for the management of Institute and is nominated by the Board of governors, with approval of the Government of Republic of Slovenia. The director is appointed for a period of five years. The current director of the Institute is Dr. Matjaž Godec (since 20th May 2011).